help dialing in popper roast?

camnicklaus

Mar 21, 2024
seattle
Visit site
hey folks!
I've been roasting with popcorn poppers for over 10 years (and for about 2 years with a BeanBon before it's fan went out and I went back to poppers).
With the poppers I've typically modified them for fan and heat control and added a cheap thermometer that sits in the middle of the bean mass.
Before getting the BeanBon I'd always assumed that my weakest link was not having access to accurate data about the roast (and it may still be ;))
But I found that, even with real time data/feedback with the BeanBon app - I still struggled to match roast profile changes to desired expectations.
My preferences are for fruit forward Ethiopians. and I tend to look for dry process - I'm not 100 percent sure if that's more because that type of bean is my preferred flavor, or I just happen to have stumbled across roast techniques that just work better with that type of bean.
After my BeanBon quit working and I went back to a popper (I currently have sweet maria's "the popper") I had a bit of what I'll call "chart fatigue" in that I'd figured out how to get the BeanBon to produce a near "perfect" looking light/med-light roast chart - with beans whose color seemed to match that expectation but whose flavor always seemed to be not quite as good as it could given the beans I was purchasing.
So I decided to focus more on the visceral aspects of the roast - smells and colors during the roasting, while still keeping an eye on temp and ROR but trying not to let them dictate my decisions as much.
I have also gotten the feeling from reading various posts regarding fluid bed roast profiles - that there's maybe just some general misconception about the expectations of roast profiles with regard to fluid bed vs drum roasting.