Advice on new coffee roaster

benwah

Aug 11, 2020
Visit site
Hello friends,

I'm new to roasting, I've been learning a lot lately but most of what I've learned is for home-roasting (I have a Hottop roaster.)

I've decided to invest and open a coffee roaster in my hometown, and I have a few questions I'm hoping to get help with.

Q1: Do you need a chaff collector if you have an afterburner?

I saw a "Victory" coffee roaster for sale, which is a Toper roaster, updated with US components. It does not come with a chaff collector, but has an afterburner. What can go wrong if I just blow the chaff straight in the afterburner? Is that how it's meant to work?

Q2: Does anyone know about Zeidan coffee roaster?

There's a Zaidan roaster for sale in my hometown, ZRC-30. I can't find much information about them online... has anyone used these?

Q3: Is an afterburner necessary when roasting in a populated area?

I'm planning on starting up with rather small batches, 6 to 10kg batches, 1 or 2 days per week. What if I don't have an afterburner? Will the smell be really that strong outside? Are there cheaper filtration options that can be used instead? I was looking at vortx kleanair for instance (though it's still pretty pricey...)

Thanks for the help!

expat

May 1, 2012
Ireland
Visit site