Bbq > sf6

poison

Aug 31, 2012
Visit site
Yeah, I've been roasting for 8 years on the BBQ drum, at LEAST 20k lbs, 2 lbs at a time. I've roasted at all hours, in all weather. My coffee has been in the gift bags at the Oscars, imbibed by celebrities (perks of my day job, I have access to them), and in general gets great feedback. But as you guys know, consistency is difficult. Every gust of wind, temp change, etc, affects the roast. I've lost 2 wholesale accounts because of it.

So finally, I'm about a week away from taking posession of a spanky new San Franciscan 6lb roaster. It's coming with all the bells and whistles: ability to log with Artisan or similar, air flow damper (which is new), bigger fan, and ability to add an additional fan for separate cooling needs (making it a continuous roaster). It's matt black, with hammered brass. It's gorgeous.

I drove up to Reno last Fri to train in on the 6. Mine wasn't quite ready, so I used someone elses that was sitting there. I spent 4-5 hours learning about the machine, maintenance, cleaning, and of course roasting. I got the handle on the basics of different profiles, and the general idea about what to do when. I apprenticed for 2 years on a Diedrich IR12, but that was 10 years ago, I haven't touched a commercial roaster since, and of course the SF is not a Diedrich. It was incredible to have a trier handy, to have two accurate sources of temp, to have accurate gas control, to have a mufuggin chaff cyclone (no more 'pthew, ugh, ahh, chaff in my eye!')....Ah, man.

Someone important recently asked me "what's your 'why'?", when asking questions about what I do. The question kind of took me aback, and I just looked at him and said: 'Remember, 20k lbs 2lbs at a time. What good reason would anyone have for doing that? I can promise you it wasn't for the money, because it's not there. There's only one good explaination. What is it?'.

"Because you love it."