seeking to buy my first high quality 'all rounder' manual grinder

chopstix

Dec 13, 2022
vancouver
Visit site
Hey gang, newbie here.
I currently have a 9 yr old breville smart grinder that is on the fritz,
so was thinking of replacing it with a Baratza Virtuoso Plus or a Eureka model.
That was until I began to read up a bit on manual grinders and boy have they evolved hugely in the last 5 or so yrs.

Primarily i do french press but also have an aeropress that' I have not yet used.
might even look into a manual expresso machine too.
So please feel free to suggest either some electric or manuals between $200-400 that can be good all rounders
...and (if a manual)then it can do a larger quantity @ 30 gm/18 oz cup for morning java.
Lastly if they're the same quality I guess that an electric model
would be considerably more $$$ since one is investing heavily into the motor etc.
Am I right?

thank you!

froze

Top Poster Of Month
May 14, 2012
Visit site
First thing, the AeroPress is nothing more than a French Press with a filter added. The filter in the AeroPress will remove oils that are left in a French Press, thus the flavor is a bit milder. I have a small French Press that just so happens that an AeroPress filter fits perfectly into the screen, I simply remove the nut, install the filter, used a knife to cut a slit so the bolt and hole can pass through the filter. Optionally you can always use a drip filter and trace an outline onto the filter and cut out the filter size you need. These filters can be rinsed off without taking the screen apart, and reused many times, I probably have around 40 uses on my AeroPress filter in my French Press.