Moccamaster/Fellow Ode 2 poor brew quality

rjacobs

Apr 16, 2024
Dallas, TX
Visit site
First post here. Seems to be the place to go for coffee info...

Im dealing with what I would call "poor brew quality"... I try to stay consistent with my variables for a few pots instead of chasing something. Some times I get watery coffee, some times way strong, and some times bitter/sour(over extracted). In almost 100 pots with my setup I cant seem to get "good" coffee... or if I feel I do, its a fluke and I cant repeat it.

I have a Technivorm Moccamaster and a Fellow Ode 2. I have an electronic gram scale(cheap, but I am sure accurate enough for my use). So in theory I "think" I have good quality equipment.

I have run beans through it from cheap-ish grocery store coffee all the way up to The Roasterie Reserve line beans and everything in between. Im sure some dont consider The Roasterie Reserve line to be anything special, but thats my most expensive coffee. At least 90-100 pots total.

Originally used paper filters(Moccamaster brand) and currently trying a Quell stainless filter. Paper was "better tasting" but flowed slow(no matter the grind) and seemed to almost always be over extracted due to slow flow(even on a really coarse grind) and I had a few tear at the bottom and completely ruin a brew, hence the stainless filter, but I dont think it was an improvement honestly. I think water flows through it TO FAST no matter the grind, hence watery coffee.

Grinding has been anywhere from a 7 to around 8.75. The light roast beans(I think I have 5 or 6 different ones from The Roasterie) seemed to be "better" with the finer grind to get a little more brew time on them. Most everything darker has been "better" at like 8.25 or 8.75.