new business within large uk hq

smithy

Mar 29, 2004
North East England
Visit site
Hi

I'm opening a coffee shop within a large corporate HQ in the UK (about six weeks off opening). I'm having a million and one last minute panics the most significant being - have I got enough potential customers on site to keep me afloat?!

I have a business masters and have worked in coffee shops since I was 16 (I'm now 25). I won the contract by securing a meeting with their top people. I am going for the quality angle - why can't you have high street standard coffee whilst at work etc. and local/regional snacks. I am not allowed to do 'full scale' meals, sandwiches or soup - the other guys are doing it and I can't persuade them to let me. I'm getting round it with open toasties, cheese & biscuits, homemade cakes and snacks.

Help! See if you think it's viable - deep down I do, I'm just having a last minute crisis of confidence!!!!

Here are the details:
-The HQ has about 1000 employees
-The unit seats about 40, people can take coffee to their desks
-My only competition is Compass group (mass market contract caterers)
-Have negotiated a deal whereby I am the only 'bean to cup' offer (They can only do instant sludge)
-I'm wanting to keep my prices low - people are at work they don't spend as much as on the high street
-Coffee hasn't taken off anywhere near as much over here although I am convinved it will
-The company are paying for the fit out, all equipment and utlities
-My big plan is to bring drive thru to the UK - it hasn't been done and I don't see any reason why not. I just need experience in opening a shop and a great deal of cash..!

Thanks in anticipation - it's such a relief to find places like this.

Mr. Bingley

Mar 16, 2004
Visit site