What's the best commercial espresso machine for this scenario?

bpayne123

Jun 2, 2016
Visit site
Here's my dream scenario..... I'd like to start a mobile cafe (or as a friend from NYC described it a "coffee truck"). I would retrofit a Sprinter-type vehicle with everything I need (grinder, sinks, water tanks, etc.) which will use a generator of some type for power. I envision (though I really have no idea!) doing 30-50 drinks an hour (I'll know more when I'm done with my research).

I am a total newb when it comes to espresso. I am signed up to take barista lessons in two weeks and plan to continue training through the summer while I work on my business plan. I'm not purchasing anything (no big capital investments) until the business plan is done and I've verified this is a feasible and smart idea.

Knowing all of my assumptions above, what would you recommend for me to use? Make, model, etc.

Thanks all! I appreciate your input!

sidg

Jun 7, 2011
Visit site
There are several things to consider. How much energy will it use as a percentage of your power available? Who is available to service the machine if / when necessary? Will the machine be visible to your customers? Once you know those things then buy the best machine you possibly can afford.
I've had a coffee truck for not quite 3 years on a sprinter frame.
You won't have room for more than 2 baristas working at a time and 50 drinks an hour is optimistic. You will want a machine that can recover quickly as there will be times when you want to kick out a lot of drinks in a short time frame.
Your dream is doable but there are major hurdles to make it a business that will support you.

bpayne123

Jun 2, 2016
Visit site