What do you think of laptop users in your cafe?

Geekpreneur

Nov 20, 2011
Visit site
Hullo,
My name is Dean and I’m a writer for Geekpreneur, a site about freelancers. You can see it at Geekpreneur.com. We’re putting together a post about working in cafes, and we’d like to know what café owners and workers think about customers sitting at tables with laptops.
Do you welcome digital nomads in your café?
Or would you prefer that they didn’t take up valuable table space for hours on end while ordering a single latte?
What do you do to encourage/discourage people who bring their laptops to your café, and what can freelancers do to make themselves more welcome?
Looking forward to your comments!
Dean
dean(at)geekpreneur.com

Damion_iAM

Nov 19, 2011
Jamaica
Visit site
Im not a cafe own i just sell coffee online
But the habit of having laptops in cafe's is great, as you can see starbucks made coffee a social trend by putting in wifi, LCD TV's extra, i believe in absolute comfort. So if i owned a cafe as a coffee lover, i would welcome them :).
and ill check out your posts on geekpreneur.

Regards
Damion

Last edited:

kanyevil

Feb 1, 2012
Visit site
I'm fine with it....

BUT,

Seeing people with Macbooks Starbucks looking like they are writing the next Harry Potter, but are actually browsing on Facebook makes me giggle.....

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
~ The originator of the thread "What to do about campers and electric" went out of busines a couple of years ago. Even though she offered "free WiFi," I've heard that she wasn't very welcoming towards people sitting in her cafe with their laptops. I've always felt that if you make someone feel bad about being in your cafe, you're going to make then think twice about coming back....and they probably won't.

Now-a-days, people look for places that have free WiFi.